Board of Governors

  • Truro High Head of Governors, Mrs Anna Corbett

    Mrs Anna Corbett

    is a Truro High School parent. With a professional background in the voluntary and education sectors, she believes that supporting young people as they develop into young adults is as important for governors as it is for parents and staff. Anna holds the appointment of Chair of Governors, Cooptative Governor and Whistleblowing Governor and sits on the committees for Child Protection & Safeguarding, Education and Pastoral, Finance & School and Governance & Nominations.
  • Revd Canon Dr Lynda Barley

    was educated at York University, University College, London and holds a professional doctorate in Practical Theology from Cambridge Theological Federation. Ordained for nearly twenty years, she previously worked as a Statistician responsible for a small team of researchers at the Bank of England and as a social researcher for Bible Society and other charities. Prior to moving to Cornwall she served for eleven years as Head of Research & Statistics and coordinating chaplain at the Archbishops’ Council based at Church House, Westminster. Now currently Canon Pastor at Truro Cathedral, she holds the appointment of Nominative Governor, is Co-Vice Chair and sits on the Safeguarding, Education & Pastoral, and Governance & Nominations committee.
  • The Very Rev'd Roger Bush

    was educated at King's College London, Leeds University and the College of the Resurrection, Mirfield. He was ordained in 1987 and was a curate at Newbold, Derbyshire before becoming a Team Vicar of the Parish of the Resurrection, Leicester and then Rector of Redruth. He was a residentiary canon at Truro Cathedral from 2004-2006 when he became Archdeacon of Cornwall. He accessed as Dean of Truro in August 2012 and serves as an ex-officio governor to the school.
  • Mrs Sarah Hall

    is a parent of one daughter at the school and one who left after Sixth Form. Sarah is a practising veterinary surgeon and was also educated at the High School. Sarah is on the Board as Cooptative Governor and sits on the Education & Pastoral and Governance & Nominations Committees of the School.
  • Mr Andrew Johnson

    graduated from Durham University and taught Classics in two independent schools before becoming Deputy Head and Senior Master of Ashville College in Harrogate. A local Preacher in the Methodist Church and ISI Inspector, he retired to Cornwall in 2016 and sits on the Education & Pastoral, Child Protection & Safeguarding and Governance & Nominations Committees as a nominee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust. Andrew is also the Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding and Chair of the Child Protection & Safeguarding Sub Committee.
  • Mr John Keast OBE

    is Co- Vice Chair and governs on the Education & Pastoral committee, of which he is the chair, and the Governance & Nominations committee as a nomine of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust.
  • Mr Edmund Waterhouse - Truro High School Governor

    Mr Edmund Waterhouse

    After graduating from St John’s College Cambridge, Edmund joined the Department of Health, leaving in 2004 to set up his own consultancy company. He is currently Chairman of Governors at Kent College Pembury, an independent girls’ school near Tunbridge Wells. He has just completed a 3 year term as a ‘chair trustee’ for the Methodist Independent Schools Trust.
  • Truro High School Governor Honor Alleyn

    Mrs Honor Alleyne

    graduated from Queen's University Belfast and holds a post graduate diploma in Education. She has taught in a variety of schools in both in the state and independent sector; her final post was as Headmistress of Tormead School for Girls in Guildford, Surrey where she spent nearly a decade in this lively and exciting role. At the end of her period as Headmistress she worked part time for two charities: one working for peace and reconciliation and based in Northern Ireland and the other as County Ecumenical Officer for Berkshire.
  • Mr Richard Collett

    is a Director of RTP Chartered Building Surveyors. After gaining a BTEC ONC and BTEC HNC in Building Studies with Cornwall College, Richard went on to study at the University of Greenwich, where he gained a First Class BSc (Hons) in Building Surveying. Richard has previously worked for; Hampshire County Council, Greenwich Council, Gravesham Borough Council and Kerrier District Council. A Professional Management Surveyor and Project Manager, Richard has over 20 years’ experience in the construction industry and is a member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. Richard sits on the Finance & School, Strategy and Governance & Nominations Committees of the School.
  • Truro High School Governor Andrea Ramsey

    Mrs Andrea Ramsey

    graduated from The University of Leicester and Guildford Law School, she took the immediate step of moving into marketing and communications for the next 25 years. During that time she established the communications department in Clifford Chance and Reed Smith LLP and set up marketing functions across a wide range of sectors including British Energy,The WRc group, Cotswold Outdoor and Npower. Having spent time in Asia, Andrea returned to the UK to set up her own marketing consultancy where projects have ranged from developing international communication strategies for EDF, Hinkley Point C to being the lead for charity Winston's Wish on the production of an award winning C4 documentary on child bereavement. Andrea sits on Finance & School, Strategy and Governance & Nominations

Each member of the Board has been assigned one, or sometimes two Departments within the School where they have a special interest. As well as Departmental attachments, there are also several committees – Finance and School, Education and Pastoral (inc. Boarding), Governance and Nominations, Safeguarding – which provide specific focus, clear direction and communication.


Correspondence for members of the Board of Governors, including the Chair, should be directed to:

Mrs Sarah Budd
Truro High School
Falmouth Rd
Telephone: (+44) (0) 1872 242997